Maryland Workers' Compensation Commission Meeting Minutes Thursday, April 14, 2022

Call to Order: Acting Chair, Commissioner Maureen Quinn called the meeting to order at 9:31 a.m.

Present: Acting Chair, Commissioner Maureen Quinn, and Commissioners Kathleen Evans, Allan Kittleman, Morrisann Martin, Howard Metz, Delia Turano Schadt and Tracey Parker-Warren.

Staff members attending were Dr. Jerome Reichmister, Medical Director, Scott Curtis, Assistant Attorney General, and Amy Lackington, Acting Secretary. Member of the public observing: Sara El-Shall, Esquire

Approval of Minutes: The Minutes of the March 24, 2022 Commission meeting were reviewed and two typographical errors were addressed. Upon motion of Commissioner Kittleman and second of Commissioner Evans, the Minutes, as amended, were approved with a unanimous vote.

Chair's Report: Commissioner Quinn gave an update on the 2022 Legislative Session, which just concluded on a successful note. The only bill of consequence, which will be reviewed again at the 2023 Session is HB0650 – Execution on a Judgment – Child Support Arrearage – Workers Compensation, which proposes to set aside 25% of indemnity benefits for any child support liens.

Old Business: Commissioner Martin gave an update on Kids' Chance activities including bowling, the Gala, and the Ocean City Fun Run. A reminder was also given that the Porth Award ceremony will be held on April 21, 2022 at 2:30 p.m. on the 4th floor of the Commission in honor of Nancy Harrison. All are encouraged to attend.

New Business: Commissioner Parker-Warren expressed concern over cases which are being continued and given hearing dates before the continued date, at times on the same date, and those that are set inside the 30 day period. Mary Ahearn will be made aware of this concern.

Medical Alerts: Dr. Reichmister answered several questions from the Commissioners regarding a variety of topics.

Adjournment: Upon a motion by Commissioner Kittleman and second by Commissioner Evans and upon unanimous vote, the meeting was adjourned at 10:15 a.m.

Maureen Quinn, Acting Chair	Amy S. Lackington, Acting Secretary	