Maryland Workers' Compensation Commissioners' Meeting Minutes Thursday, December 17, 2020

Call to Order: Chairman R. Karl Aumann called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m.

Present: Chairman Aumann and Commissioners Kathleen Evans, James Forrester, Allan Kittleman, Morrisann Martin, Howard Metz, Ju Oh, Maureen Quinn, Delia Schadt and Tracey Parker-Warren established a quorum.

Staff members attending were Mary Ahearn, Steven Jones, Amy Lackington and Stacey L. Roig, Secretary of the Commission.

Closed Session: At 9:17 a.m., upon motion of Commissioner Martin and second of Commissioner Quinn and upon unanimous vote, pursuant to GP §§3-305(13), LE §§9-402, 9-403, 9-405, 9-406 and 9-1104, and COMAR 14.09.13.12, the Commission entered a closed session for the purpose of discussing self-insured employers' financial information.

Steven Jones, Director of the Insurance, Compliance & Regulation Division reported that Diakon Lutheran Social Ministries has requested an increase in retention. After discussion and a motion from Commissioner Quinn with a second from Commissioner Forrester, and unanimous consent, the motion was approved.

Mr. Jones also reported that The Archdiocese of Baltimore requires an increase to the security deposit. After discussion and a motion by Commissioner Metz and a second by Commissioner Evans, and unanimous consent, the motion was approved.

Finally, Mr. Jones also reported that Sheehy Auto Stores will be leaving the self-insurance program effective July 1, 2021.

The meeting was reopened at 9:25 a.m., upon motion of Commissioner Parker-Warren and second of Commissioner Martin and upon unanimous vote.

The meeting reconvened at 9:30 am on an open meeting line allowing the public to attend the remainder of the meeting.

Present: Chairman Aumann and Commissioners Kathleen Evans, James Forrester, Allan Kittleman, Morrisann Martin, Howard Metz, Ju Oh, Maureen Quinn, Delia Schadt and Tracey Parker-Warren.

Staff members attending were Mary Ahearn, Jerome Reichmister, M.D., Amy Lackington, Scott Curtis, Kevin Naumann, Theresa Cornish, David Jones and Stacey L. Roig, Secretary of the Commission.

The Chairman reminded all outside guests who were attending via telephone to please mute their phones and reminded them that this is a meeting of the Commissioners and not an open forum for questions, comments, etc.

A list of guests who called in to this Open Meeting is attached to the Minutes.

Approval of Minutes: The Minutes of the December 10, 2020 Commissioners' Meeting were reviewed and, upon motion of Commissioner Quinn and second of Commissioner Evans, the Minutes were approved with a unanimous vote.

Chairman's Report: The Chairman announced that all WCC employees were invited to attend the meeting to give everyone a chance to briefly meet together virtually, in lieu of the usual holiday celebration at the Commission. The Chairman offered his thanks for the work that everyone has been doing under the very difficult circumstances of the past nine months. He expressed his pride in the work product of the team in keeping the Commission, the only adjudicating agency in the state, operating efficiently. The Chairman then turned the meeting over to Mary Ahearn, CEO; David Jones, CFO; Theresa Cornish, COO and Kevin Naumann, CIO to say a few words to the attendees.

Mary Ahearn reminded everyone that Governor Hogan designated Christmas Eve as a holiday for all state employees. Ms. Ahearn also announced a 2% COLA increase for all employees effective January 1, 2021. Ms. Ahearn also presented and congratulated those employees celebrating a milestone anniversary in service to the State of MD. (Please see attached list for details.)

Theresa Cornish thanked everyone for their work and expressed her appreciation for every employee's part in facing a year of challenges and opportunities. Ms. Cornish is looking forward to being together again soon.

David Jones expressed his gratitude to all employees, with special kudos to those employees who have carried out their duties in the office. There are many workers at the Commission who are working on the COVID front lines and do not receive special discounts or see their stories on the news. Mr. Jones expressed special thanks to those workers.

Kevin Naumann expressed his thanks to the Information Technology team, which was asked to make very fast changes to applications last March, so that the agency could stay on track in a remote working world. They were tasked with learning new software and applications and then training others when they had just learned the software themselves. Mr. Naumann thanked everyone on the team for their continued hard work.

The Chairman wrapped up his report with a reminder that the coronavirus pandemic is not over, and everyone must remain vigilant, wear masks and practice social distancing. The amount of work has been tremendous, and everyone has been an asset to the Commission and is doing a great job.

Old Business: No Report

New Business: Commissioner Forrester announced two workers' compensation community retirements. **Medical Alerts:** Dr. Reichmister reminded everyone to continue with safety precautions of social distancing, washing hands frequently, wearing masks and avoiding crowds.

Happy Holidays to Everyone!

Adjournment: Upon a motion by Commissioner Forrester and second by Commissioner Martin and upon unanimous vote, the meeting was adjourned at 10:02a.m.:

R. Karl Aumann, Chairman	Stacey L. Roig, Secretary

WCC MILESTONE ANNIVERSARIES 2020

5 Years

Jeffrey Randall Janet Vanderpuije Quianna Jackson Brandon Clark

Meenakshi Gagendiran

Kathleen Evans

Tracey Parker-Warren

10 Years

Danyela Vick Francis Morgan Laura Andrews

Twenty Years

Olethia Bowman Valeriy Karpov Derry Pemberton

Twenty-Five Years

Tonia Carter Kelly Stesch Steven Jones

Thirty Years

Cherry Tate

Thirty-Five Years
Naomi Edwards

Public Attendees to Commissioners' Meeting Thursday, December 17, 2020

Name

Law Firm, Company or Other Affiliation

Antonio R. Lopez Joan P. Adelman Cindy L. Armstrong, Esquire Schenker, Krause & Lopez IWIF/Chesapeake Employers' Insurance Company Erlandson, Vernon & Daney, LLC