FAQ & Contact Information

Site Index

Set the size for the menu bar General Information Divider Public Online Services Divider Claims & Adjudication Divider Vocational Rehabilitation Divider Medical & Fee Guide Info Divider WFMS Subscriber Services Divider Workers' Compensation Links
OCTOBER 2012 Notices     Go back to Notices
We are closed Monday, October 8th in observance of Columbus Day.
We open for business at 8 a.m. Tuesday October 9th.
The 28th Annual Maryland Workers' Compensation Educational Association Conference, October 14-17, 2012,
 Clarion Resort, Ocean City, Maryland. For more information visit or call (240) 206-6007.

22 We are saddened to announce the passing of longtime Commission staff person, Beverly Dennis.

The Maryland Workers' Compensation Commission announces the passing of longtime staff person, Beverly Denise Dennis, on Wednesday, October 17, 2012. Beverly served in diverse roles during her 37 years with the MDWCC, including Claims Services, Public Service and Information Technology. She was admired by everyone for her expansive knowledge of the Commission, remarkable recall of people and events as well as her keen ability to courteously assist everyone with a warm, disarming smile. Following her retirement in July 2010, Beverly joined the staff at the Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall, assigned to the artist's entrance to greet, direct and assist arriving performers. She also returned to the MDWCC in on-call capacity for our Public Service office, continuing her supportive relationships with friends and colleagues. Her warmth, humor and holistic talents touched many and will be missed by all.
9 The International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions (IAIABC), North America's oldest workers' compensation association, announced its newly-elected 2012-2013 Executive Committee. The Committee provides strategic leadership and financial oversight for the Association and is comprised of ten agency executives and the Chair of the Associate Member Council. The members shape IAIABC initiatives to 'advance the efficiency and effectiveness of workers' compensation systems throughout the world.'

The 2012-2013 IAIABC Executive Committee was voted in by the IAIABC membership at the IAIABC 98th Annual Convention annual business meeting, and sworn in by IAIABC Past President Alan McClain on Thursday, October 4., 2012.  Members of the 2012-2013 Executive Committee are:

President: Christine Baker, California Department of Industrial Relations
President-Elect: Jack Nolish, Michigan Workers' Compensation Agency
Vice President: Dwight Lovan, Kentucky Department of Workers' Claims
Secretary-Treasurer: Chris Godfrey, Iowa Division of Workers' Compensation
Immediate Past President: Mary Ahearn, Maryland Workers' Compensation Commission

Pamela Cohen, WorkSafeBC
Brent Hatch, Texas Division of Workers' Compensation
R.D. Maynard, Idaho Industrial Commission
Richard Thompson, Georgia State Board of Workers' Compensation
David Threedy, Washington Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals
Scott Brener, Chair, IAIABC Associate Member Council, SFM
2 NCCI's 2012 Maryland State Advisory Forum is Tuesday, October 9, 2012 from 9:00 am to 12:00 noon at the Hyatt Regency Baltimore at the Inner Harbor: 300 Light Street, Baltimore, MD 21202  If you have not already registered for the Maryland State Advisory Forum, please click here to begin the registration process: State Advisory Forum Online Registration  You can also contact NCCI's Customer Service Center at 800-NCCI-123 (800-622-4123) and select option seven from the automated menu. One of our customer service representatives will process your registration and send you a confirmation within 24 hours.